French Community of Belgium

French Community of Belgium (fr. Communauté française de Belgique, niderl. Franse Gemeenschap van België) – one of three official communities of Belgium. This is an institution which is involved in the development of the French language in this country. Therefore works in the field of culture, education, science and international cooperation. Its coverage includes the greater part of Wallonia (with the exception of municipalities inhabited by a minority of German) and the Brussels-Capital Region.

In respect of the Community, the French used the names: the Wallonia-Brussels (Communauté Wallonie-Bruxelles), or the French Community Wallonia-Brussels (Communauté française Wallonie-Bruxelles), although none of them do not appear in the Belgian constitution. According to some the name suggests a link between the community and the French region of Wallonia, while they are two different institutions.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: